By the time Steve Jobs stands up on the West Coast of the US with Apple’s latest announcement, this blog will have celebrated its first birthday. To mark the occasion, I’m going to trawl through time and come up with a potted history of the past year in digital music. I hope to have something online by Tuesday 11 October – exactly one year from posting ‘ebay experimenting with downloads’, say whatever happened to that idea?

And Mr Jobs? Well, according to Apple Insider, a fine publication, expect a thinner, higher capacity video iPod, pushing it and iTunes closer to the heart of home entertainment.

Actually, thinking about it, I’ll post a timeline going back 10 years (something I did ages ago) but I’ll do more writing about the past 12 months, just in case anyone’s interested.

