I love newsreaders/RSS feeds and for ages have used NetNewsWire but this evening I came across Times, a new style newsreader built for the Mac and utilising some of its in-built graphic capabilities to produce a real “wow” app. Some of the functions aren’t perfect – importing from other apps didn’t work but surfing my feeds and reading the posts of interest was as cool as… I’ve got a couple of weeks left on my trial but on first impression, I’m exactly that, impressed.

And a happy second discovery was Dopplr, which features the skills of a former BBC colleague. An exciting extension to social networking covering the travels of its members and creating opportunities for meetings on the move and more. Slickly designed and with some cool features, this is a nice job well done. Interesting to see how things develop.

