No real shocks here from Music Ally for 2009 but it interesting to note they pick out the rise of live EPs and more digital albums. I think that in the same way you used to get multiple versions of popular songs on 12-inch remixes (yes, I am that old), it would be entirely natural that artists will make multiple live versions of tracks available for a small fee or free. Hell, it’s been going on for decades if yo’re a Grateful Dead fan.

The combination of growing digital nous by artists and the fact that you can never beat live should fire a digital downpour. I, for one, would love to pay for and collect different live versions of my favourite songs – used to do that with vinyl bootlegs (cripes that does date me).

Add to that the various sessions that artists do and there’s a wealth (literally) of prime time content for artists to put online, bring it on!

