I’m a Windows Phone 7 user – used to be on iPhone, tried Android but I’m more taken with the Windows Phone. I think it has a better UI, it’s a better UX and despite there only being 40k apps, I’ve not really missed anything from iPhone or Android.

The homescreen with live tiles, integration with Outlook (handy for work) and incremental improvements in speed, multitasking etc mean I’m always a little disappointed when I try out the new Galaxy on Android etc. Mind you, I’m going to try the iPhone 4S soon, so maybe I’ll be swayed by Siri.

Will it be a breakthrough year in 2012 for Microsoft and Windows Phone? It’s a hard road and the 800lb gorilla is the iPhone and Google now has 52% market share with Android but Windows Phone 7’s existence should force Apple and Google to look at their own platforms and at least match or better Microsoft’s efforts. It would be foolish to dismiss Microsoft, especially given how much money they and Nokia are going to spend. At the very least 2012 will be great for the mobile customer as the competition heats up.

Mashable thinks there’s something to be told in this story too.

I never thought I’d be a fan of a Microsoft-designed product but hey, delighted to be surprised. Now, a tablet with an OS like Windows Phone 7 …

